Posted on May 12th, 2011 (1:00 pm) by Clayton Williamson

Blue Sky Black Death are in no rush to soak your brains in relaxing synths and hip-hop inspired rhythms. Noir, their newest LP from Fake Four Inc. slowly weaves through pop, rock and shoegaze in a patient quest to lay you down in a soft cushion of grooves. The prolific discography of producers Kingston (Kingston Maguire) and Young God (Ian Taggart) is a testament to their artistic hunger, as Noir is their 13th proper album, not including mixtapes and solo work. Clearly, you’re in good hands.

As with most instrumental synth albums, the songs of Noir tend to gel together into an hour-long soundscape, challenging even the greatest of attention spans with ever-changing hooks and drum machines. With enough time and repetitions as your musical sleeping aid, however, Noir reveals a few gems amidst the decent but unremarkable electro tunes. “Where Do We Go” features a rare vocal against a jungle tempo and artificial strings, and sheer jubilance makes “Sky With Hand” a true anthem; a flag waving closer that ends the LP with an undeniable killer.

Noir is a solid work by two accomplished musicians eager to explore the sound of darkness and joy within the realm of their laptops, and you’d do yourself a kindness if you’d stop reading this review and start giving Blue Sky Black Death a chance to serenade you to sleep. They might even whisper sweet nothings in your ear.

Track List:

1. Our Hearts Of Ruin
2. Sleeping Children Are Still Flying
3. And Stars, Ringed
4. To The Ends Of The Earth
5. Farewell To The Former World
6. Falling Short
7. Gold In Gold Out
8. Where Do We Go
9. In The Quiet Absence Of God

Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

69 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC