Posted on August 28th, 2015 (1:00 pm) by Addison Herron-Wheeler

Hate Eternal are death metal legends, and as such, any time they release a new record it draws a great deal of attention from the metal community. Rather than keeping things thrashy and singing about gore and death, these dudes wrote more introspective songs, and kept the focus on being as heavy, straightforward, and brutal as possible. This has been their staple sound ever since, and they don’t disappoint with their latest record, Infernus, which is just as strong as any of the material they’ve released to date.

It's been four years since their last release, Pheonix Amongst The Ashes, so the group has had some time to follow up with some serious fury. Erik Rutan, the famed frontman of Hate Eternal, is responsible for the production on a lot of other death metal releases as well, so he doesn’t let anything slip past him when it comes to creating a furious and unforgiving record.

While this album is still as blistering as their previous work, featuring 30+ straight minutes of blast beats, robotic precision riffs, and guttural vocals, they also have a certain refined, melodic quality present on the recording that really makes Infernus stand out. Some of the tracks that really come through and showcase this are "Locust Swarm," which features some ripping and melodic guitar work, and "O' Majestic Being, Hear My Call," which brings in more melody with a black metal flavor.

There are also some blasting rippers on the record as well, such as "Zealot, Crusader of War" and "The Chosen One." These songs stick to the formula of three minutes of blast beats and straightforward shredding, and they don’t apologize for it in the least. The record goes back and forth between direct, blistering songs and tracks that lean a bit more to the melodic side, but never once does it falter. Everything works together seamlessly, and the album manages to blend the fast and the furious with the melodic and introspective in a way that really works. Rather than feeling disjointed and out of wack, the record still flows very well and functions as a complete album, not just a strong collection of songs.

The only downside here is that there is no new ground being broken. These songs are heavy and driving, and super-fun to listen to, but they are not anything you haven’t already heard if you are a Hate Eternal fan. And for the uninitiated, there isn't enough reason to get into Hate Eternal in the first place.

This record does a good job of showcasing that Hate Eternal are relevant enough to change up their sound and try new things, such as tapping into the melody and black metal driven trends metal is currently experiencing, but also that they are heavy and brutal enough that they will always make solid, ripping records and never disappoint their fans. Where other bands fail and make bad records so late in their career (lookin' at you, Disturbed), they completely succeed. If you love Hate Eternal, and if you're a die-hard death metal fan who likes to see bands keep succeeding, this record is a must.

Track List:

  1. Locust Swarm
  2. The Stygian Deep
  3. Pathogenic Apothy
  4. La Tempestad
  5. Infernus
  6. The Chosen One
  7. Zealot, Crusader of War
  8. Order of the Arcane Scripture
  9. Chaos Theory
  10. O' Majestic Being, Hear My Call
Hate Eternal - Infernus
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

75 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC