Posted on April 29th, 2015 (1:00 pm) by Aaron Tremper

Lauded as pioneers of the big beat genre, The Prodigy quickly joined the ranks of the Chemical Brothers, The Crystal Method, and Fatboy Slim after founder Liam Howlett formed the group in 1990. On The Day is My Enemy, The Prodigy delivers a collection that merges these elements into an hour-long set that recalls the genre’s hallmark moments. Meshing elements of punk, industrial, and acid / tech house, big beat is known for its aggressive style and extensive use of everything from standard breakbeats and Roland TB-303 bass tones to ambient sirens and explosions. The Day is My Enemy includes all these elements and more; as the title suggests, The Prodigy’s latest release is an anthemic tribute to the genre’s rowdy legacy.

The record opens with the hard-hitting “The Day is My Enemy,” an addictive, industrial anthem to the nocturnal that recalls the German aggrotech grit of Combichrist and Laibach. The tracks, “Nasty” (which sounds straight off a revamped soundtrack of "Gran Turismo") and “Rhythm Bomb” follow a similar vein, with the latter featuring touches of hardcore techno by dubstep producer, Flux Pavillion. Meanwhile, the undeniable stand-out track, “Rhythm Bomb” softens the break-beats for a relentless four-on-the-floor anthem.

Nevertheless, the album as a whole revels in its loud, hard production, with track titles like “Rebel Radio,” “Get Your Fight On,” and “Wall of Death” accentuating the LP’s sneering, mosh-pit vibe. The album closes with a sound that leans more toward such punk rock tastes with “Get Your Fight On” and “Wall Of Death,” resulting in a pleasing merging of genres that could best be described as “hard dance-punk.” While the album’s strongest inclinations lie in the group’s characteristic big beat sound, certain cuts, such as the dub-y “Invisible Sun,” and the Drum'n’Bass single, ”Wild Frontier,” flirt with different styles of contemporary electronic music.

Overall, The Day is My Enemy opts for a return to The Prodigy’s big beat roots with accents of various electronic influences sprinkled throughout. Despite the album title’s reference to the smooth Cole Porter cut, “All Through The Night,” The Day is My Enemy is a blunt spread of punk rebellion and heavy-handed production. Between the scathing commentary of mediocre DJ’s that is “Ibiza” and the "violent sounding" eponymous thrasher, The Prodigy returns with enough attitude and grit to compete with the best of the contemporary EDM headliners.

Track List:

  1. The Day Is My Enemy
  2. Nasty
  3. Rebel Radio
  4. Ibiza (featuring Sleaford Mods)
  5. Destroy
  6. Wild Frontier
  7. Rok-Weiler
  8. Beyond The Deathray
  9. Rhythm Bomb (featuring Flux Pavillion)
  10. Road Blox
  11. Get Your Fight On
  12. Medicine
  13. Invisible Wall
  14. Wall Of Death
The Prodigy - The Day Is My Enemy Review
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

71 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC