Posted on August 4th, 2015 (1:00 pm) by Magdalene Taylor

Metal is well-versed in anti-humanity rhetoric. Death is the core theme for the multitude of the genre’s more defining content, whether implicit or explicit. When black metal bands talk about darkness and coldness, what they’re really talking about is ultimately dying. Some bands are obviously a bit more clear - when Cannibal Corpse puts out a song called “Icepick Lobotomy,” we know the vibe they’re going for. Nonetheless, death as a concept often lacks context in this field. I myself am almost always anxious about my looming demise, but it is not this anxiety that is reflected in death metal. More often than not, death metal discusses the death of unspecified others, usually on a mass scale. I understand that you guys want me, my family, and everyone I know to fall into some kind of human meat grinder, but can I least know why?

Finally, Cattle Decapitation has delivered an answer in their latest album, The Anthropocene Extinction. Not only does the album make it clear that I deserve to die for the sins of industrialism and humanity’s crimes against the environment, but it also delivers an intense and uncompromising contribution to Cattle Decapitation’s staple deathgrind in the wake of the giant that was their previous album, Monolith of Inhumanity.

The album maintains speed and brutality that makes it persuasive in itself, but it’s the increased sense of melody and rhythm both vocally and instrumentally that makes it most agreeable. Admittedly, the first track set me up for disappointment: “Manufactured Extinct” is chugging and brooding, but purposelessly so. The second track, “The Prophets of Loss” clears the name of the first, however, as a display of both classic deathgrind and forward-thinking dynamism that defines the album as a whole.

Following up Monolith of Inhumanity, Cattle Decapitation had to be somewhat careful with The Anthropocene Extinction. This album is not quite of the glory that Monolith was, but is nevertheless a satisfying follow-up for Cattle Decapitation fans with an increased sense of thematic cohesiveness. It is comfortable, but just daring enough to maintain their upward climb. Above all, the album is focused. From album cover and title to the lyrics themselves, Cattle Decapitation makes it clear that they believe that humanity deserves to die. “Mammals of Babylon” outlines our faults: “We had it all/ The whole of Eden in our hands/ The privilege of existence/ The ubiquitous lay of the land/ We suffocate ourselves/ We defecate on the product line/ Fell under our own spell/ Carelessly crafted hell.” Well, when you put it that way...

Track List

  1. ”Manufactured Extinct”
  2. ”The Prophets of Loss”
  3. ”Plagueborne”
  4. ”Clandestine Ways (Krokodil Rot)”
  5. ”Circo Inhumanitas”
  6. ”The Burden of Seven Billion”
  7. ”Mammals in Babylon”
  8. ”Mutual Assured Destruction”
  9. ”Not Suitable For Life”
  10. ”Apex Blasphemy”
  11. ”Ave Exitium”
  12. ”Pacific Grim”
Cattle Decapitation - The Anthropocene Extinction
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

75 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC