Posted on July 29th, 2014 (2:00 pm) by Angela Goldberg

With less than two months to go before the release of her next full length album, Shara Worden, otherwise known as My Brightest Diamond, has released a five-track EP on the Asthmatic Kitty record label that is nothing short of breathtaking. These songs are haunting and stirring, beautiful and complicated, all in the best way possible.
The first track on None More Than You, "Dreaming Awake (Son Lux Mix)," starts delicately and quiet. It breaks away from reality and eases us in to the world Worden created with these five songs. The track features a controlled melody where Worden showcases her classically trained voice. The track quickly crescendos into a massive, frenetic culmination of noise. There is an urgent and dramatic quality to the song's escalation which is elevated by Worden's voice maintaining its calm and controlled air. It sets the tone for the rest of the ethereal and otherworldly songs on the EP. Three tracks later, the EP offers us a second mix, "Dreaming Awake (Mason Jar Mix)." The track sounds brand new, and after the songs before it, it's a nice revisit. Worden’s vocals sound crystal clear here, and this song has a stronger melodic quality. The culmination of the first mix is still present on here, but this time the track is more percussive and the focus is on Worden’s voice.

The EP flows into the track “Whoever You Are,” a jarringly upbeat song in comparison to both of the “Dreaming Awake” mixes. The track has an almost playful quality to it, in part due to the use of synth noises that keep the song (and the EP) firmly planted in a galaxy far, far, away from popular music as we know it. “Dreams Don’t Look Like” revisits the general darkness of the other songs, opening up with a snare-heavy beat and laid-back vocals. None More Than You closes with “That Point When,” a slow and meditative tune that acts as the perfect outro to this compilation of songs. It is dreamy and calm, easing us out of the trance of this EP.

It may not be very long, but My Brightest Diamond’s None More Than You does one thing perfectly; it gives us just enough to crave more on the upcoming release of her full-length album.

Track List:

  1. Dreaming Awake (Son Lux Mix)
  2. Whoever You Are
  3. Dreams Don't Look like
  4. Dreaming Awake (Mason Jar Mix)
  5. That Point When
My Brightest Diamond
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

75 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC