Posted on June 24th, 2014 (1:15 pm) by Francesca Lillie

There’s one thing all humans will share during life despite any differences between them: suffering. No matter how low we feel or how amazing we feel, those two fleeting emotions come and go throughout our lifetime. We sustain and survive through horrible moments with hope and perseverance, or as First Aid Kit (and many others) put it, we “keep on keeping on.” The sister folk duo of Johanna and Klara Söderberg express their acceptance that good and bad times alike will eventually come to an end on their third album, Stay Gold. First Aid Kit first caught everyone’s attention with their beautiful harmonies in the form of a cover of Fleet Foxes’ “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song” on YouTube in 2008. Their previous releases had a smaller scale production compared to Stay Gold. This record features a thirteen-piece orchestra, giving them a richer, more amplified sound.

In the first song on the record First Aid Kit present a thought about music and humans that is present throughout Stay Gold: “A song is never just sad / There’s hope / There’s a silver lining.” “My Silver Lining” begins with the significance of hope and the driving force it is for us. Throughout the album you’ll hear the sisters sing about moving with the flow and accepting situations as they are. “Stay Gold” is filled with doubts about life and wishing for positive things to remain. The song opens with striking harmonies and continues with them throughout the song, drawing your attention to the attentive, relatable lyrics. The larger band they used on this album helps deliver a solid, professing milieu for the duo’s voices and lyrics. After nine likable songs, Stay Gold ends on a somber note with “A Long Time Ago.” With a piano and violin as prominent instruments and their haunting harmonies, the sisters sing about discovering you’re not the right person for someone. The ballad is a highlight on the record.

First Aid Kit accomplish a lot with Stay Gold. Not only did they make a lovely record that’s relatable, they give us musings about life and love that are worth thinking about. Like the line in “My Silver Lining,” they point out something that’s key to music whether you’re the musician or the listener: hope. If you’re creating a song to release your emotions or listening to a song for the same reasons, you’re driven by hope. While First Aid Kit give us that connection we crave to music while demonstrating their powerful and superb sound, they also remind us the power that music holds in Stay Gold.

Track List:

  1. My Silver Lining
  2. Master Pretender
  3. Stay Gold
  4. Cedar Lane
  5. Shattered & Hollow
  6. The Bell
  7. Waitress Song
  8. Fleeting One
  9. Heaven Knows
  10. A Long Time Ago
First Aid Kit - Stay Gold cover art
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

71 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC