Posted on August 18th, 2015 (1:00 pm) by Travis Boyer

Is there such a thing as dance-punk? The two terms do not exactly go together like peanut butter and jelly but more like vinegar and tabasco. One side is peppy and the other is angry. Together, they form a uniquely pop-punk style that has a hip-hop slant. New Politics, the Danish trio who burst on the scene in 2013 with the party rock anthem, “Harlem,” have returned with Vikings, another burst of dance-punk energy. New Politics aren’t ska level, happy-go-lucky punk pop, but more of an electronic hip-hop-ish punk.

New Politics are essentially a hybrid band of break dance beats and punk-ish attitude. Now, whether the two sides coalesce together well enough to not become a parody of both genres is another story entirely. Punk is, at least in its heyday, snotty and destructive. This brand is neither of those. It is the poppiest of punk thanks to all of its electronic elements, but there is an inherent defiance when you listen to David Boyd’s vocals. Boyd has that insipid quality to his voice that reminds you how punk they can be, which is sparing. The majority of the record is danceable, meaning the beat is lively enough without becoming obnoxiously so. Together, it is more dancey pop than it is punk. Punk is all in the attitude, and New Politics has an attitude about them that’s more fun than anarchy.

Opening track “Everywhere I Go (Kings and Queens)” is the epitome of dance-punk. It becomes a trance bout of clapping percussion loops marching along until it all goes hyperspeed at the drop of a hat. In between the wild swings, it is distinctly dry hip-hop with Boyd’s rapid-fire vocals. Then, everything takes off again on a whirlwind from all sides. It is a straight-up mashup of two diverging genres and attitudes that come together to form a tour de force combination.

However, not all of Vikings is about dancey melodies. The finale, “Strings Attached,” is as straight ahead punk rock as New Politics will ever get. No electronic gimmicks, just a minute and a half sprint full of thrashing riffs and unrelenting drums. It is still as kicky as the electronic-infused tracks before it, but it is a fitting break from the norm of this record.

Whether it is dance, pop, rock, or punk, New Politics brings the same high energy to Vikings. Dance-punk is as unconventional as it sounds, and New Politics are anything but conventional.

Track List:

  1. Everywhere I Go (Kings And Queens)
  2. West End Kids
  3. Girl Crush
  4. Lovers In A Song
  5. 15 Dreams
  6. 50 Feet Tall
  7. Pretend We're In A Movie
  8. Loyalties Among Thieves
  9. Stardust
  10. Aristocrat
  11. Strings Attached
New Politics: Vikings
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

70 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC