Posted on February 1st, 2014 (1:54 pm) by Travis Boyer

If you are a part of the roughly two-thirds of Americans who have recently succumbed to the icy grip of the polar vortex, then a smidge of cabin fever has surely crept into your life a time or two. That stir crazy sensation that no amount of Monopoly or hot chocolate can subdue can drive a person up the wall. Luckily, there is a solution that does not involve drop kicking the board game into the fireplace. The answer lies in a metal jam album entitled Plague Ship, the debut effort by El Drugstore.

Even if you are not a metal head, the primal thrashing nature of this jam session will reach down into your gut and bring out your inner head-banging, Megadeth t-shirt wearing, self. For the times that feel like you could bounce off the walls out of sheer frustration, pick any track from this white knuckled ball of fury, and an outlet will be found. Not for the faint of heart, Plague Ship, could be the antidote to the winter doldrums.

From the start, this album wastes no time making its presence known. The opening track, “Tell Them I Said Something,” is a frantic, thumping, good time that does its best to wring out any extra aggression out of the listener. It’s authoritative without being overly boastful and pushy. It is loud and clear that El Drugstore have something to say and aren’t going to mince chords to do it.

“By What Ill-Begotten Means Have You Procured This Meat?” is a wordy song title, but it speaks volumes. Solely through its stop-and-go introduction, El Drugstore capture the highs and the lows admirably. The listener will endure a manic session of fits and starts during this track, which can be assumed is about the hazards of un-FDA approved meats. The results of such a sketchy meal would make anyone convulse as this track does.

El Drugstore ramps up the firepower on “The Natives Are Getting Useless.” This rapid fire track speeds by with machine gun guitar that spares no ammunition. “Wheel of Sadness” spins a thrashing, smashing, good time that is a whirling tornado of mayhem. Both tracks are quality examples of El Drugstore’s ways of taking that head banging quality to a cathartic level.

Plague Ship is not for the passive listener. One cannot listen to this album and not expect to be taken on a roller coaster ride in which the g-forces laid upon you aren’t playing your stomach like a yo-yo. More than likely, if you do listen to this album, you thrive on the adrenaline that comes with the thrashing nature of metal. For metal rookies and veterans alike, Plague Ship does the job.

Track List:
1. Tell Them I Said Something
2. Hipster Tits
3. Enthusiastic Corruption of The Public Good
4. Fascinating Underpants
5. By What Ill-Begotten Means Have You Procured This Meat?
6. The Native Are Getting Useless
7. Tokyo Assault
8. Wheel of Sadness
9. Pandemonium in The Bronx
10. Steakback

el drugstore, plague ship
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

70 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC