Posted on October 20th, 2013 (8:30 am) by Tim Korenich

New to Fat Possum Records stable of artists is Jackson Scott. Channeling sounds of artists like Built to Spill, Scott displays his own quirky, '90s inspired psychedelic take on music with his debut LP, Melbourne.

A 20-year-old college dropout and resident of Asheville, North Carolina, Jackson Scott employs reverb and pitch shifting on his vocals to counter the sweet nature of his songwriting. On tracks like “Together Forever,” a tune at a lumbering sixty beats per minute, these slightly off-putting vocal techniques really shine through to give an otherwise cheery pop song a funny feeling. Scott’s fuzz guitar and lazy vocal beg for comparisons to Dinosaur Jr. or Pavement.

On tracks like “Sandy,” his pitch-shifted vocals make his simple lyrics sound childlike. Tambourines and poorly recorded acoustic guitars give an Apples in Stereo, pseudo-'60s vibe. It’s amazing how one percussion instrument can do that. Certain moments of “That Awful Sound” really seem to sound like Robert Schneider, too.

Jackson Scott will be touring the U.S. this fall with Unknown Mortal Orchestra. Any fans of any of the bands previously mentioned in this review shouldn’t miss these shows, and should definitely consider picking up a copy of Melbourne for their collection.

Track List:
1. Only Eternal
2. Evie
3. Never Ever
4. Sandy
5. That Awful Sound
6. Tomorrow
7. Wish Upon
8. Any Way
9. Together Forever
10. In the Sun
11. Doctor Mad
12. Sweet Nothing

Jackson Scott Melbourne
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

66 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC