Posted on July 21st, 2013 (8:55 am) by Jon Rankin

The current state of hip-hop can be depressing at times, with nearly every notable artist relying on some form of gimmick or trend it is hard not to give up completely. That is why the new album Buck Fotzy by Botzy is a breath of fresh air in so many ways. It is not a '90s hip-hop remake, it is not some dubstep/trap remix album, it is just music for the sake of music, and surprise, it is really good. Solid beats, relatable and well-crafted lyrics; the only downside is that the album is short, only has eight tracks one of which is an interlude. Comparatively speaking Botzy is on a similar level to underground hip-hop giants like Blu and MED. Fans of the real musical talent will certainly have Buck Fotzy on repeat until his next release.

For those who are already familiar with Botzy’s prior releases like Deaf to the Static and My Friends and I this album will sound a bit different. Botzy claims to have completely reworked his approach to recording and song writing as a response to his dissatisfaction with his solo live set in comparison to his former live band Culture Cry Wolf. The new album still deals with a number of charged topics although the overall tone remains upbeat and positive throughout. The track “Burger Jones” is a prime example of this, dealing with the aforementioned current state of hip-hop but still keeping your head nodding to the beat. Any given rapper has made a track dealing with a notion of being better than others but very few acknowledge that respect should be given to others of talent as well.

The first release from the album, “You Got It” is another lighthearted beat including some very interesting sample choices but it deals with the overwhelming daily grind of a 9 to 5 job and life in general, but instead of dwelling on the severity of the potential negativity Botzy chooses to keep the song upbeat and positive.

Buck Fotzy is certainly a step in the right direction for Botzy and we can not wait to hear more from the young artist, especially now that he seems to be dedicating all his time and energy into his solo work instead of dividing it between a band and his solo endeavors. Our only hope is that his next release will be longer because we cannot get enough of him.

Track List:
1. I Was in Jaws
2. You Got It?
3. Thrill is Gone ft. Justin Dow
4. Interlude
5. Couldn't Breathe ft. Lizzo
6. Bandwagon Massacre
7. Burger Jones ft. Freez
8. Waiting for a Moment ft. Sophia Eris and Chantz Erolin

Botzy: Buck Fotzy
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

84 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC