Posted on July 29th, 2014 (8:00 am) by Theresa Flanagan

Vinyl Thief's debut LP Fathoms hits an electro-rock sweet spot. Their music relies on intriguing intricacy rather than overpowering energy; it's catchy, without coming off as being written purely for the sake of getting stuck in your head. Vinyl Thief is an as of yet unsigned quartet out of Nashville, made up of Grayson Proctor (vocals, synth), Logan Purdom (guitar), Sam English (keys) and Andrew Broadway (drums). Fathoms has been quite a few years in the making, combining previously released as well as brand new material onto a Kickstarter-funded full-length. With the help of former high school classmate turned marketer and publicist Wes Davenport, Vinyl Thief have been working hard on getting their name out there and their music heard. Which it most definitely should be heard, they have plenty to offer.

To hammer home the point we've made time and time again about releases in this genre: at this point it's near impossible to come off as innovative or original as an up-and-coming electro-pop/rock artist. However, there is still plenty of new music coming out that is well worth your while. Fathoms is a good example of this. As a band Vinyl Thief is playing around with the same elements as everyone else, and there are definitely moments on the record highly reminiscent of other artists. Even so, Fathoms comes off as a cohesive effort from a band with its own identity, influenced by but not derivative of other players on the electro scene.

"Fathoms" is a slow build, but doesn't lack for energy. It's lyrically simple, but against a shifting instrumental background that builds up in complexity before cutting off to a calm finish. Vinyl Thief understands the importance of both building up and backing off their sound to keep things from getting one-note. They released an EP previewing four of the tracks on Fathoms back in February. Stop Motion was focused around the idea of escaping, and the tracks on it are now scattered through the record. However, "Faces" and "Slow Down" remain in sequence, providing a nice foil for each other. "Faces" is faster-paced than much of the rest of the record, pushed forward by a driving drum line except during the first dreamy chorus section. It's the track most you're most likely to find yourself singing bits of after listening to the full record. Meanwhile, "Slow Down" is, unsurprisingly, slowed down and softer. The two are sandwiched between "London" and single "Middle Of The Night," which share a common "haunted" theme. "Middle Of The Night" has a definite "Entertainment" vibe, but tweaked to fit Vinyl Thief's theme.

Over the course of ten tracks, Fathoms maintains a distinctive sound but also offers plenty of variety to keep your interest. Each track offers a different perspective from Vinyl Thief, showcasing their strength working together. After all, they've been playing together for eight years at this point! This is definitely a release worth giving a listen, and we look forward to hearing more from Vinyl Thief in the future. For now, you'll only be able to catch them live if you happen to live in Nashville, Knoxville or New York. Otherwise, the record is available from Amazon and iTunes. It's due for release on July 22. In the meantime, you can grab the first two singles off the record, "Compact" and "Middle Of The Night," by giving the band a "like" over on Facebook.

Track List:

  1. Fathoms
  2. Smooth
  3. London
  4. Faces
  5. Slow Down
  6. Middle of the Night
  7. Compact
  8. Rebel Hill
  9. Stop Motion
  10. Alright
Vinyl Thief: Fathoms
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

83 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC