Posted on October 5th, 2011 (10:08 am) by Nicholas Palumbo

Feist is far from new to the music industry. She had quite a run with indie-supergroup Broken Social Scene, and had a handful of solo albums under her belt, including Open Season, Let It Die, and her 2007 effort, The Reminder. The Reminder is her biggest success to date, with singles "1,2,3,4" and "My Moon My Man". As a personal observation, the album paved the way for an onslaught of other female vocalists to get in on the limelight. But none were able to reach the same success and notoriety as Feist.

Over the last four years, she's kept a lowkey lifestyle. We heard very little from her until late 2010, when she indirectly announced an album. After that came audio clips, almost in the form of puzzle pieces, from her website. The clips often came with unique, beautiful visuals or imagery of Feist, herself, in the studio. The clips moved me and I felt the intended effect: to get ready for the album and be emotionally moved by music.

And that's exactly what this album has. The Reminder was an album that was best known for its instrumental simplicity and pop underbelly - making it perfect for the commercial ideal of companies like iTunes and Starbucks. But Feist, while adhering to some of the sounds for which she is best known, makes Metals a smorgasbord of style. For example, her song "Cicadas and Gulls" has her pulling out the electric guitar and bringing in the chorus while the very next song entitled "Woe Be" is more doleful sounding. Strings, banjo and her classic style croon are in full-swing in this album.

Metals is extremely pleasant to the ear, and I would go as far as to consider it one of the best albums of the year. While missing the commercialized singles her 2007 effort had, this is the album that does what it intends--to provide the listener with an exhilarating experience.

Track List:
1. The Bad in Each Other
2. Graveyard
3. Caught a Long Wind
4. How Come You Never Go There
5. A Commotion
6. The Circle Married the Line
7. Bittersweet Melodies
8. Anti-Pioneer
9. Undiscovered First
10. Cicadas and Gulls
11. Comfort Me
12. Get it Wrong, Get it Right

Feist - Metals
Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

86 / 100
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC