Posted Dec 3rd, 2010 (4:30 pm) by Alex Gordon
Music Player: 

Dan Bejar, the musically promiscuous artist behind Destroyer, is back with a new album called Kaputt in 2011. Bejar is known for his work with The New Pornographers and Swan Lake (with Spencer Krug and Carey Mercer).

Bejar’s first offering from Kaputt is “Chinatown,” a gentle and reflective piece that begs to be played in the tiny headphones of lonesome pedestrians. Bejar does a great job of filling the simple song with well-placed instruments, despite one questionable horn that wails throughout the chorus.

“Chinatown” is the opening track on Kaputt which is a good sign. Opening tracks set our expectations for an album, they set the mood, they tell us what the music is about. If “Chinatown” is this kind of prologue, Kaputt is bound to be a great album.

Kaputt Track Listing

1. Chinatown
2. Blue Eyes
3. Save Night At The Opera
4. Suicide Demo For Kara Walker

5. Poor In Love
6. Kaputt
7. Downtown

8. Song for America

9. Bay of Pigs

10. The Laziest River

© Inyourspeakers Media LLC