Posted Dec 11th, 2014 (1:30 pm) by Sabrina Dhaliwal
Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan

Or, as Dylan says, “uncover.”

Fans and press alike have already known for awhile the icon was working on his next record Shadows In The Night, but what we learned in a recent press release on his website was unexpected. Dylan announced the entire album will consist of renditions of the best Frank Sinatra songs and even gave a sneak peak at what the album might sound like.

While both artists are significantly influenced by the history of Americana, they share little in the way of music style, and though Dylan may be singing Sinatra, he is certainly going about it his own way. Shadows In The Night was recorded live without separate tracking and the songs do not feature big bands like the originals did. In his press release Dylan noted, “I've wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band.”

But, Dylan also wants to make it clear he is not covering the tracks by any means. “I don't see myself as covering these songs in any way. They've been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact, he said. “What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

Shadows In The Night is expected to release February 3, 2015. Until then, pre-orders are available on iTunes as well as Dylan’s version of “Full Moon and Empty Arms” from May.


  1. I'm A Fool To Want You
  2. The Night We Called It A Day
  3. Stay With Me
  4. Autumn Leaves
  5. Why Try to Change Me Now
  6. Some Enchanted Evening
  7. Full Moon And Empty Arms
  8. Where Are You?
  9. What'll I Do
  10. That Lucky Old Sun
© Inyourspeakers Media LLC