Posted Jul 18th, 2014 (10:48 am) by Mel Daneke
Arthur Russell
Arthur Russell

Artists are contributing their covers of age-defying Arthur Russell songs for the Red Hot Organization.

The Red Hot Organization, a non-profit organzation, has been raising awareness about A.I.D.S. through music and pop culture since 1989. They've worked with over 400 artists that have contributed to their tribute albums and have raised over 10 million dollars for their cause. This time, artists like Sufjan Stevens, Rubblebucket, Phosphorescent, Jose Gonzalez, and Hot Chip are covering songs by Arthur Russell. Before his death from A.I.D.S. in 1992, the 90's artist was known best for performing wide-ranging works with his cello in a folk rock setting.

The album embodies the experimental nature of Russell's music. Red Hot provides an eclectic selection of artists that span a wide-variety of genres. The album will be released October 21st. Check out a video below of Russell's “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”.

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell:
1 – Jose Gonzalez: “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
2 – Lonnie Holley: “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
3 – Robyn: “Tell You”
4 – Hot Chip: “Go Bang”
5 – Sufjan Stevens: “A Little Lost”
6 – Lonnie Holley: “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
7 – Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld: “Keeping Up”
8 – Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo: “This Love Is Crying”
9 – Rubblebucket & Nitemoves: “Eli”
10 – The Revival Hour: “Hiding Your Present from You”
11 – Sam Amidon: “Lucky Cloud”
12 – Devendra Banhart: “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13 – Phosphorescent: “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14 – Blood Orange: “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15 – Scissor Sisters: “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16 – VEGA INTL.: “Arm Around You”
17 – Oh Mercy: “Planted A Thought”
18 – Lonnie Holley: “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19 – Cults: “Being It”
20 – Richard Reed Parry: “Just A Blip”
21 – Glen Hansard: “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22 – Thao & The Get Down Stay Down: “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23 – The Autumn Defense: “Oh Fernanda Why”
24 – Alexis Taylor: “Our Last Night Together”
25 – Lonnie Holley: “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26 – Redding Hunter: “Close My Eyes”

© Inyourspeakers Media LLC