Posted on November 7th, 2008 (2:07 pm) by Travis Müller

For any of you 80s new-wave fans out there, there's a new record out by The Cure. Unfortunately, 4:13 Dream, the band's 13th studio effort, falls flat on its face. How bad is it? Well, I was left wondering whether or not I had been listening to a demo tape rather than the actual album. Unlike the undeniable classics The Cure has created over the past few decades, this record made me wonder if they’ve just become tired of making music.

Fans of the The Cure's prototypical 1980s and 1990s sound will be happy to know that the band has not made any changes in their musical style with 4:13 Dream. However, this record sounds like an Edie Brickell afterthought with uninspired and rehashed melodies that we've all heard before. The album opens with tracks like Underneath the Stars and Freakshow, which can only be described as late 80s disasters. Letting the album play through was a daunting task as every track sounds exactly the same.

Robert Smith's distinguishable voice sounds almost like a parody of itself, as on every track he sounds like he is trying too hard to capture the band's once cutting-edge sound. While he has his moments, (specifically on the warpy-sounding Sirensong) he still manages on just about every track, to sing against melodies that aren't even there. What follows the semi-decent Sirensong is the drowning lyric "You've got what a want," which opens Real Snow White, a track that, despite its catchy chorus, still sounds hollow and cheap.

If one stares at the album's artwork, which is literally a splattered mess of color, it will become apparent that it really does seem to suit The Cure's lackluster work presented here. Any experimentation on Dream is left in the dust, being overshadowed by its dated sound and lack of true nostalgia. For those of you who grew up in the age of cassettes and can remember all the college-radio-tracks you once loved, you may find yourself chuckling at this record. 2007 and 2008 have proven themselves as successful years for returning artists like The New Kids, Tina Turner, Grace Jones, Annie Lennox, and Duran Duran, but it's hard to imagine The Cure joining the ranks as they have, with 4:13 Dream, proven that they have not grown since the mid-nineties.

Track List

1. "Underneath the Stars" – 6:17
2. "The Only One" – 3:57
3. "The Reasons Why" – 4:35
4. "Freakshow" – 2:30
5. "Sirensong" – 2:22
6. "The Real Snow White" – 4:43
7. "The Hungry Ghost" – 4:29
8. "Switch" – 3:44
9. "The Perfect Boy" – 3:21
10. "This. Here and Now. With You" – 4:06
11. "Sleep When I'm Dead" – 3:51
12. "The Scream" – 4:37
13. "It's Over" – 4:16

The Cure is...
Robert Smith
Porl Thompson
Simon Gallup
Jason Cooper


Purchase at: Amazon | eMusic

Our Rating

© Inyourspeakers Media LLC